## APPROVED BY THE COMMITTEE – 9/21/17

# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 8, 2017

## **MINUTES**

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, June 8, 2017 at 9:30 a.m. in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

> R. Bruce Bradley Michael J. Henry Toykea S. Jones Kay A. Kemper Mary Maniscalco-Theberge Frank Reidy Andres Sousa-Poza, (*Faculty Representative*)

Absent was:

Also present were:

Richard Cheng

Augustine O. Agho Judy Bowman Jonathan Cawley Jane Dané Morris Foster Casey Kohler Jay Wright

#### I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 27, 2017 MINUTES

The minutes of the April 27, 2017 meeting were approved.

#### II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss recommendations for two honorary degree recipients and the appointment of five faculty members with tenure. The Committee convened again in open session.

# III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

A motion was made by Mr. Henry and seconded by Ms. Kemper to award an honorary degree to